Present a written argument to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

Cricket has become more popular than the national sports in the sub-continental countries.

What do you think are the reasons behind this?

Cricket, once introduced by the British people has become the most famous and followed sport. It is the most played sport in many countries. In my opinion, the main reason for the increase in the popularity of cricket is the financial attractiveness and inspiration for the youth from the great pioneers.

The amount of money cricketers earns from playing the sport and though advertisements and brand endorsements magnetises the youth to follow this sport. Having a sound financial health is a dream of every people as this will make their future secure and they will not only have a comfortable lifestyle but also will be able to purchase luxuries because of which they choose to build their career in this field. To elucidate, the famous batsman Virath Kohli, the wealthiest man earning money by playing cricket as well as by participating in promotion campaigns is a motivation for people to play cricket and become famous and rich like him.

Moreover, people always follow the path of their idols and aspiring players. The successful batsmen and bowlers become the popular icon for the young generation which converts them either into their fan or a prospective future player. To exemplify, Sachin Tendulkar is considered to be God of Cricket and many people are a die-hard fan of him as a result some have even become aspiring cricket player.

Furthermore, cricket is acclaimed worldwide because the amount of media attention cricket enjoys solely is not given to any other sport. There are many channels broadcasted on television such as Teen Sports and Star Sports that show live cricket though out the day. Thus increasing the popularity of this sport though out the nation.

To conclude, I vehemently agree that huge amount of money earned in this sport, inspiration received from the famous cricket players and media coverage are the major reasons for giving cricket worldwide recognition.