Some people think it is important to spend a lot of money on a wedding celebration, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Marriages are made in heaven and considered to be one of the most significant chapters of one's life. There is a school of thought that says that excessive spending is essential for a marriage ceremony. This essay will analyze the contrasting opinions, which are for and against materialistic ways to celebrate an event.

To commence with, on one hand, a lot of the parents opine that the marriage ceremony of their children should be one of the most memorable days in their lives. Therefore, to make it an unforgettable event they spend a huge amount of money on the preparations and the celebrations of the same. A good example of increased spending is contemporary big fat weddings, which is a mandate these days for a couple to start their journey together. Quintessentially these snobby ceremonies are believed to enhance the social status of the host family. Thus, spending an enormous part of wealth is considered valuable.

On the other hand, others argue that the careless use of bank balance is not a wise way of organizing functions. These spendthrift habits of some can create pressure on society and set high expectations from other hosts to arrange lavish programmes too. There is ample evidence that a majority of people take loans just to treat their relatives and friends for their wedding ceremonies. Thus, creating a financial burden to commemorate nuptials is illogical as excessive materialism can harm the moral values of the society.

To recapitulate, there are favorable and unfavorable consequences of shelling out enormous wealth on marriages. In my opinion, such events must be celebrated considering the affordability of the organizer, consequently, burning a hole in the pocket just to impress others is wasting precious resources, which if invested intelligently could result in securing the future.