The pursuit of happiness is an everlasting human endeavour in all societies. However, happiness is probably the most elusive thing in the world and when defining it, people often hold widely different views. In my opinion, although the definitions of happiness may vary, they can fall into two broad categories, which will be discussed below.

Some people think they can obtain happiness through acquisition. Their lives are an incessant course of possessing something, whether it is money, fame, authority or social status. A typical example is reflected in the activities of a shrewd businessman, who is in the habit of rushing through life, being on the go from morning till night, motivated by anything that sounds profitable or lucrative. But the sad thing is that only a few of them can become millionaires after years of striving. A more brutal truth is that many rich people are so obsessed with possessing and retaining their money that it is hard for them to relax and enjoy themselves. Little wonder that some big shots committed suicide because they longed for happiness in another world.

On the other hand, there are some people in the world who achieve happiness through helping others and contributing to the whole society. They are more often ordinary citizens who understand that true happiness comes from giving rather than taking. By

devoting themselves to the cause of helping the poor and the disabled, they feel an inner bliss that accompanies them at every moment of their lives. Laborious and painstaking as it is, they are determined to overcome every stumbling block in the way because they are

convinced that giving a helping hand to others is a spiritually rewarding act. For instance, we all have the experience of feeling fulfilled and gratified when we have successfully solved a knotty problem for others. It is this kind of charity and generosity that makes our

lives rich, meaningful and happy.

To conclude, only through contribution, rather than acquisition, can people actually find themselves immersed in a feeling of happiness. In other words, happiness lies not in anything we possess, but in the act and attitude of helping others.