Some people say material possessions are very useful in bringing us happiness but other argue that they are useless in terms of providing happiness.

Discuss both the views and your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Life is full of joy and sorrow. Happiness is a state of mind when a person feels amused, enjoys the situation and wants to be in that state forever. As Joy is temporary so people try to find it through different means. Some of the individuals feel happy by buying materialistic things like luxurious cars, big flat, huge property, gold and list goes on while others feel happy by enjoying with their family members and friends. In my opinion, I believe that acquiring materialistic things give pleasure for sometime but such kind of happiness is useless.

In today's era of modernisation, people prefer to live in nuclear families and are not having good relations with their siblings because everyone is running after money, status, name and fame. That is why, individuals are attracted towards property and feel happy by buying big car, huge house with a garden etcetera. People think that they are having lots of money so they do not need anyone in their life as they can buy anything, whatever they want. In present time, Individuals indulge into fights and crimes because of property. On the demise of the head of the family, they try to take more property than their sibling and sometimes such cases are settled by the law.

On the other side, Some people think that property does not buy happiness and they thank to God because they are having something to eat and wear. Their real joy lies in the beautiful bond that they share with their blood relatives and friends and they believe that when they will be in bad situation, at that time their close relations will be there to help them but not the tangible resources.

In conclusion, I would like to say that although materialistic things can provide happiness to people for sometime but they do not run after them and destroy their relation with the family because of fame. In emergency situations, family members will be with you but gold and property will not be going to help you.