Some people say that mobile phones should not be allowed in public places, others argue that people should be free to use their mobiles wherever they like.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Different people have different opinions about the usage of one of the most commonly used fidgeting gadgets -mobile phones in public places. While I believe that the rule of restricting its usage could be beneficial to a certain extent, I also put forth that it would create some negative consequences to the regular users and in people's emergencies as this rule would become a scrutiny.

There are several arguments to support this restriction: First, had the mobile phones been let free in public places like libraries, there would be a higher probability for the other people to get distracted. This distraction could completely spoil the reading environment for which they are meant for. Secondly, if there is a ban on the usage of mobile phones in railway stations, is there a possibility for the work to progress without any disruption or stagnation. Take for an instance, passengers who are supposed to buy tickets or the issuing authorities have a conversation over their mobile phones while they are supposed to do their duties, there happens a delay in the workflow for no important reason. Though the ban imposed could bring benefits, it is the need of the hour to analyse the drawbacks of it.

People who oppose the restriction of this rule state that a few negative sides are in the limelight. According to their view, the more they use the mobile phones, the more they will be connected with their circle- be it their family, colleagues or friends. Due to the restriction placed on, they might not find time to catch up with their dear ones’ and this would be more appropriate for the commuters who use mobile phones while commuting. Besides this, in cases of emergencies wherein a person has to pick up the call in public places, this rule would be an obstruction. As a result, the information which has to be conveyed to them could be delayed and this may make a great difference in their lives.

By and large, the restriction of mobile phones in public places has its own fair share of advantages and disadvantages. Therefore, in my opinion, wherever we use a mobile phone, we should make sure that no person or work is disturbed because of our cell phone usage. It is also suggested that every person should think by instinct and use mobile phones as and when it is required.