The movies industry is undergoing through one of the most significant changes in recent times which is due to the introduction of OTT (over the top) platforms. But the important question is, with the advent of these new streaming platforms will the trend of going to the cinema halls is going to diminish or there won’t be any impact to the theatre goers? This essay will discuss the both the views and try to highlight the advantages and advantages of the same.

Because of various technological advancements and streaming platforms people have an option to choose and pick. Another argument that works in favor of the streaming platforms is low cost for the viewer as an annual subscription of Netflix is approximately the cost of two movie tickets. It also provides convenience to a person on when and where he/she can watch.

Although the cost of going to cinema halls is high yet the experience that you get in a theatre is unmatched and spectacular. The incredible sound system and sometimes the 3D or the VR experience is not to be missed. Also if the footfall in cinema halls goes down a major source of employment and revenue will be impacted.

In my opinion, both the platforms are equally important. While it is true that cinema halls offer a different experience but streaming platforms gives alternatives to both the audience and the makers as we have seen during pandemic times. Because the cinema halls were closed, the makers didn’t have to undertake huge losses as they released their movies on platforms like Netflix. Which mode a person selects can also depend on the type of movie, the actors and the director of a particular movie for e.g. I would always prefer a movie like Avengers in cinema hall.

To recapitulate, there should be a balance and both modes of transmission should complement each other as both are equally important.