Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

It is opined by some that children should be motivated for planned team activities in their leisure hours by their parents, whilst others believe young ones should seek what interest them and invest their time and energy in such acts. This essay will discuss both the views and will give an opinion that why it is better to be a part and engage in group.

Firstly, as most of the children have inquisitive minds, they will love to learn in a well-planned environment. All the activities, especially within the same age groups have an objective, such as hand-eye coordination or how quickly one can respond. This way, not only social skills of these youngsters can be honed but they can sub-consciously learn values like sharing and caring. Additionally, it carry more weightage as more families are becoming nuclear and people travel away from their loved ones. To cite an example, summer camps not only help to utilize the free time but also expose off springs to new dimensions of art, craft and sports.

On the contrary, sometimes societal pressure can mould a child’s interest, they can get inclined to learning that are visible in groups. Peers can influence individual decision making. So, it is also argued that youngsters should develop interest of his/her own and find a knack in what he/she loves. However, this may not be feasible every time as adolescents do not have much idea of their surroundings. As they lack experience, they can be lured to unhealthy activities. For instance, it is feared that budding young guns can get hooked to internet or gaming applications and can pose risk to their privacy.

To sum it up, in my viewpoint well planned learning environment in a peer group is beneficial for children, as they can be better placed in group learning. Though, personal interest can be a stimulus to keep them busy, constant supervision may still be required to keep them safe.