The only way to solve the increasing crime rate of young offenders is to teach parents better parenting skills. To what extent do you agree?

Going against the rule of law and being intimidated into criminal activities is on the surge among the youth in many countries. It is being argued that honing parenting skills can mitigate the effect of youngsters participating in crime. This essay strongly agrees that parents upbringing of their children has an important role to play and with correct training the situation can be controlled.

Firstly, guiding parents on spectrum of criminal activities and specially those offences having highest involvement of young souls will bring clarity on the reasons why such heinous acts are committed. Crime may range from drunken driven to drugs and sexual assault. Understanding the psychology what drives it can be an eye-opener for many of the guardians. Issues like stress, competition, societal pressure, hormonal changes can lead young minds to commit unlawful activities. So, a skilled mother or father will be better equipped to identify what is influencing a youngster to jump into crime. Is it a peer group or an external influence?

Secondly, if parents will be well versed with techniques to cater to their child’s mischievous habits at nascent stage, it will be easier for them to mold their behavior. Skills like being their best friend can go a long way in securing any emotional breakdown in their life. For instance, learning of slang language, how one communicate on different platforms, can be a great differentiator. However, caution should be maintained not to micro-manage their lives and to give independence to their thoughts and beliefs.

To conclude, parents learning life skills to prevent their kin indulgence in criminal activities is a must for any country to maintain peace and harmony. They would be aware and better prepared to take actions, before any situation turns critical.