Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time . Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own .

Discuss both these views and give your opinion

It is believed by some people that parents should motivate their children to spend their leisure time by participating in group activities. However, others opine that children should spend their free time in their own way. In my opinion, I consider that group learning has more merits than self-learning.

On one hand, it is necessary to encourage kids towards participation in team activities and I agree with this view as it improves interpersonal skills and emotional skills. In other words, in a group children interact with each other and this helps them to overcome shyness and build friendly relationships. As a result, they become confident and learn to cooperate in a group. Also playing group sports like basketball, football and cricket has enormous benefits on their health and mental well-being. Furthermore, such activities keep children aloof from additive technologies like Ipads, video games and TV, phones which ruin their social life and health.

On the other hand, kids engaging in activities on their own provides them a feeling of independence and being responsible which ultimately leads to development of critical life skills such as decision making. For example, At home, kids often choose between things to keep themselves busy like doing non-fire cooking, simple household chores or playing with their own toys, watching Tv or dancing. This fosters decision-making in the young minds. Moreover, it is the most cost-effective way to keep kids occupied and content. In other words, It saves a lot of finances for some families who may not be able to afford to enroll their kids in expensive clubs conducting such activities.

In conclusion, while many people vary in their opinions, I think that kids' participation in specialised group activities is the need of the hour as it overcomes isolation and keeps kids physically and mentally fit.