Now a days many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent times, more and more people are having the urge to start their own work instead of joining any company as professionals. This is mainly because the people are daunted by the stressful work life of corporations and also the development of social media. This trend, however, has many negatives aspects for the individuals and the corporations.

One of the major reasons attributed to the rise of persons opting for their own business is the stressful work environment in organisations. In other words, professionals are expected to remain connected whole day and be on call whenever required by their bosses, which causes poor work-life balance, pressure and anxiety and forces them to leave their job and start their own ventures. Morever, owing to the increasing popularity of social media platforms such as facebook, instagram, and whatsapp, it has become easy for almost any entrepreneur to enter into market and advertise its products and services to a wide range of customers. This ease in promotion of business has hugely encouraged people to commence their work and grow it on their own terms.

There are few problems which have resulted due to people being their own bosses. Business does not guarantee fixed income, therefore people have been experiencing financial difficulties in their lives, which was never a problem while they were engaged with a company and used to get fixed remuneration. This, consequently, has become a reason of worry and stress for many. Furthermore, organisations have been experience shortage of efficient staff and responsible staff to allocate more responsible roles.

To summarize, although being self-employed helps person to enjoy tremendous benefits in terms of independence and flexibility to work as per their own will, it exerts many detrimental effects on individual’s financial conditions as well as for the companies suffering from lack of loyal and dedicated professionals.