In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still hungry. why is this the case? what can be done about this problem?

Although many developments have taken place in the farming industry worldwide, substantial portion of the population is not able to fulfil their basic necessity of food. This is mainly because of unprecedented increase in world population and lack of availability of modern methods of agriculture. This problem can be overcome by following few steps at national and individual level.

One of the major reason that can be attributed to countless people remaining hungry is the population explosion in the world. This, as a result, causes an enormous strain on the country’s resources and capacity to ensure food to each and every citizen. Moreover, the advancements that have taken place in agriculture are restricted to more developed nations. Whereas, in developing countries such as India, which is majorly an agricultural country, is still using outdated and conventional means of irrigation and production of food grains, consequently reducing the quantity and quality of food grains reaching the people.

In order to deal with this issue, both government and individuals have to play an active role. Allocating government funding towards farming and providing interest free loans to farmers can go a long way in encouraging them to use latest equipment, fertilisers, and scientific manure for achieving large scale production. At individual level, people have to become responsible and avoid food wastages at the first place. For instance, many helplines have been initiated that collect left over food items from parties and distribute it among the impoverished people. Moreover, waste food ought to be collected to make compost which can further be used to nourish crops in the form of manure and avoid soil erosion.

To summarize, the problem of food shortages could be easily tackled if nations and its citizens take joint efforts in working towards this issue by efficiently utilising left over food and also by increasing the production of food grains, by employing cutting-edge technology in growing crops.