Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that the present situation of environmental degradation is a global issue. Therefore, some believe it should be the responsibility of the government to resolve it, whereas others are of the opinion that people should deal with the problem. In my perspective, issues pertaining to our planet should be resolved by the government and the people on their own respective levels.

To begin with, there should be active participation of the policymakers to protect our planet from any form of harm. Lawmakers should focus on issues like pollution and wastage that cause damage to our ecology and act towards solving them. Firstly, the pollution caused by fumes from manufacturing factories and emission released by motor vehicles can be regulated by the government laws. There should be strict regulations and penalties on companies to make sure they are following protocol. Secondly, Cars engines and certain components of air conditioners and washing machine often release toxic gases like carbon dioxide in the air, which can be hazardous to the ozone layer. There should be strict laws and certifications to check if the equipment can cause any damage to the environment.

Individual effort should also be involved in saving the environment. They can start by curbing the use of single-use plastic and replacing them with sustainable alternatives such as paper and bamboo. Plastic cups, plates, etc are non-biodegradable and do not decompose with time, additionally, once they are released in the sea, it affects the marine lives as well. Moreover, individual cooperation towards the laws meant for environment conservation can be a good initiative. Those who follow government rules such as saving energy, reusable shopping bags or by not littering are also helpful in supporting the ecosystem.

To sum up, in the current scenario, the world is facing the threat of environmental degradation and this can be tackled with the cooperation of the government and their citizen.