Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programs and films about it than by actually visiting it. How true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn by watching programs and films about it?Give reasons

It has recently been discussed that people can get more information about different countries by watching films or related programs which are nowadays very common on TV than visiting that country in person. While I agree that these programs are reliable for learning many new things, I cannot underestimate the value of travelling and visiting the country alive.

It is true that today's documentaries, tourists programs and various kinds of films are at people's disposal to get enough precise information about other countries. As there are always some researches to find out all aspects of an area and even discover some new facts about different parts of the world, it is sometimes much more easier to watch these kinds of programs to be informed about that specific region. In addition, it seems more comfortable to sit on a sofa and learn a lot of inspiring facts about different spots. For example, it is possible to get information about some virgin places where may seem dangerous to travel to, or sometimes people do not have enough time to explore and experience all the parts of a country. Media has made it possible for people to get a pile of information at once and even with the possibility to review various parts.

On the other hand, just by having enough information about a country, we cannot expect to know all the aspects. Firstly, it is essential to be with local people to not only understand the real culture, but also to feel it. Secondly, each society has its own features and customs which could be understood just by walking around the city and contacting people. Finally, one of the most important parts of each country relates to its cuisines. I believe that everyone should taste various dishes of a region to feel closer to that nation. It is almost beyond imagination to have such experiences through watching films.

In conclusion, it is completely useful to be informed about a country by watching films or programs, but I believe that it could not be compared with the impression of visiting that area which is definitely second to none.