Some people tell that to reduce traffic and pollution, government should increase the tax on the petrol (gasoline). Would there is more benefits than the drawback?

The increment in fuel prices by the authorities is considered as the best solution to control traffics and pollution, which is a nightmare in almost all cities, according to a few people. In my opinion, although it is beneficiary to a certain extent, it can have more detrimental impact on common public than its benefits.

To begin with, it is quite obvious that if the fuel price is raised by imposing high duties on it, fewer people will use it. Due to reduction in users, not only the traffic problem will be solved but also it reduces poisonous smoke, which is mainly emitted by vehicles on the road. For instance, India has the highest Tax on petrol and thus the lowest car users. So high-cost fuel does assist in solving the issue.

However, its applications are limited as it target only the one aspect of problems. Most of the car-goers are rich and wealthy enough that they can easily afford the hiked price which means the number of cars on the street still remain the same. Moreover, it simply puts financial pressure on common people who are already struggling with enormous inflation rate. Thus, high-priced propellant is inefficient solution.

The most effective way is to educate people about the deteriorating impact of their irresponsible action on the nature. People should be encourage to use public transport on their daily commute, which is the major reason for car use. In addition, authorities should improve the quality of public buses, which is pathetic at the moment, to attract more users. In this way, vehicles on the street will be decreased eventually so will be the pollution and traffic.

In Conclusion, high tax duties will simply increase the burden on middle class population, who are in the majority, rather than creating a huge impact. Therefore, government should invest more on other promising approaches, such as awareness campaign.