Some people tend to judge a person on the basis of first observation. Some people believe it takes a long time to know a person well. Which approach to knowing people do you think is better and why?

Meeting a person for the first time and judging a person may not be very correct in the very first instance. Some people believe in "First impression is the last impression". In my opinion, this is not entirely true. Judging a person on the first meeting itself could be wrong at times.

There are different kind of people in this world. Some persons are introverts and others extroverts. Some persons are simple-thinking and a few could have a complicated thinking process as well.

If you meet an introvert you cannot judge him properly in the first meeting. Whereas, it will be very easy to formulate an opinion about an extrovert. To know a person's thinking process it needs dialog and discussions on different topics. One can be very good in discussions on one topic whereas others can be proficient in discussions on some different topic. To have a comprehensive evaluation of a persons thought process, way of talking, depth of knowledge and social etiquette's, it is imperative to meet and judge on more than one occasions.

Therefore, to judge a person correctly, comprehensive dialog and positive communication is the key factor. The dialog with the person gives you an insight into the thought process of the person. Whereas meeting a person gives you time to read his facial expressions and body language. Meeting as well as maintaining a dialog is both part of positive communication. Therefore, it is very essential that in order to judge a person correctly a fair amount of meeting and discussions on various topics are undertaken.