Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others

believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the

future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) classes should be mandatory for students, while others think that students should be allowed to pick classes they like. Although STEM courses will be beneficial for students in their job search, I believe it is better for university students to choose their favorite classes to be more motivated to study.

On the one hand, STEM fields are believed to assist students in getting jobs easily. The fact is that multiple companies around the world are searching for STEM workers. As a result, students with much knowledge of STEM fields are likely to be able to apply their knowledge and get accepted for jobs quickly after their graduation. In Canada, empirical observation suggests that undergraduates with degrees in STEM receive job offers five times faster than other students in other majors. However, as everyone has different study abilities, not all students are good at and successful in STEM fields.

On the other hand, allowing students to pick their favorite classes makes students feel more motivated to study. This is because if students are encouraged to study what they like, they will look forward to attending classes every day to absorb new knowledge and gain experience. Moreover, they will be happy enough to put more effort into completing assignments and achieving high results at school. One survey in Vietnam revealed that students who were allowed to choose classes themselves did 40% better than those who were forced to attend STEM classes. Therefore, I believe this method makes education more meaningful to students.

In conclusion, despite the fact that STEM classes can ease the job search for students after their graduation, undergraduates should be allowed to choose whatever they want in order to gain more motivation for their own studies