Some people would argue that all universities should provide their students a possibility to study any subjects they want, while others would say that they should obtain only skills, such as science and technology, that are more likely to be implemented in future. I believe that we are free to choose any degree that we desire, because all professions are important for financial system.

Some would argue that students can decide their specialization themselves without thinking whether they will be useful for humanity in the future. One reason for this view is that no one has any rights to tell other people what to do and it would be cruel to force students to study subjects they might not be interested in. Another reason is that the freedom of choice in universities creates a diversity on labour market, which has a positive impact on the economy. For instance, western universities allow students to chose subjects from different fields from physics to philology and that helps them to be more educated and certain about their professional future.

On the other hand, restricting the rules by studying only perspective areas related to technology and science, will possibly contribute to technological progress. In addition, there will be no lack of specialists in, for example, IT or engineering, and this fields will probably be developed much more efficient, what is obviously a very valuable investment to the economy of country. To illustrate, in Russia, first education is free in the majority of areas and in perspective ones, there is funding and more study places for students, but there are still a lot of programmes which can be enrolled only by payment.

To sum up, I can understand both sides of discussion, but as a student myself, I think that the freedom of choice in education are important for society.