Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think that it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In Kazakhstan, there is a concern in society about the importance of art subjects since they occupy more than 25% of the time children spend to study at school. This leads one to wonder whether these disciplines are important to teach at school. This essay agrees with the idea that art is redundant in school curriculum for the following reasons.

The first reason is that there are more important subjects to teach at schools. After they graduate, most young people get employed as engineers, economists and lawyers. Therefore, while they study at school, they should study more necessary subjects, including maths, physics and history, than music and literature, which have an insignificant impact on their future employment, so that they can compete with other qualified employees in the labor market.

Another reason why art subjects are redundant at schools is that they are impractical. Except a child is gifted in art, they, who constitute the majority at school, do not need to learn how to sing or play musical instruments, since they would have to work twice harder than talent children, if they wanted to get the slightest recognition in art. Therefore, they should put more emphasis on the subjects they are good at.

However, some artists claim that art is important to have in school syllabus. They say that by learning art subjects, children would know how to appreciate art. Despite this, I believe that children can master this skill on their own as part of extra-curriculum activities. Therefore, it is clear that children would waste valuable time at school unless they stop studying art disciplines.

In conclusion, pupils should stop studying art disciplines since they need to concentrate on more significant subjects that can improve their career prospects in the future.