Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think that it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In Kazakhstan, there is a concern in society about the importance of art subjects. The reason for this is that they occupy more than twenty-five percent of the time children spend studying at school. Some teachers think that these disciplines are critical to learn at school. However, others claim that they are unproductive. This essay agrees with the idea that art should be not beneficial for children for the following reasons.

The main reason why I think that art subjects carry no significance to pupils is that they do hardly contribute to building successful career. Generally, graduates often get employed as either engineers or economists so it is better for them to give a greater preference to studying more vocational subjects than music and literature. As a result, the replacement of art subjects with practical subjects will improve their future career prospects. For example, as part of experiment in Karaganda city, some schools substituted art disciplines with vocational ones to see how fast their former students could find occupations. The outcome exceeded their expectancy because their students had better qualifications than those with no change in their curriculum.

However, some teachers state that it is necessary for children to study art at school. The main arguments for this point of view is that art subjects help children better appreciate the beauty of the world. If art were excluded from school syllabus, then pupils would be unaware of the idea behind beautiful pictures, songs and theatre plays. Consequently, they would develop a sense of inferiority to those who study art as an extra-curriculum activity. For example, in the former USSR, because they had not been taught art at school, many students found it unpleasant when they could not answer the questions of art asked by students from the USA.

In conclusion, although some teaches advocate that students should study both art and other subjects, I think art should be replaced by more significant subjects so that graduates can easily find jobs.