Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It has been argued for quite a long time whether art is an important part of academic studies or it is just a waste of precious time. However, while I believe that it is necessary to educate children about contemporary culture and history at school, I disagree with the fact that it is a waste of time. In this essay, I will discuss both the views with supporting examples and pieces of evidence, followed by my opinion.

With regards to the importance of art in school education, it has been observed that art played a vital role in educating children about our culture and classical history. Although some people do not prefer to study it as a major academic subject, many people believe that art is necessary for each and every child to know about the culture. Studying art at school provides great opportunities to learn about historical monuments and old sculptures. In many government schools, for instance, history is included as a major subject in their school curriculum.

On the other hand, some people believe that studying art at school is completely a waste of time and it should not be included in school level education. In addition, due to modernization, there is no use of art in technical and skillful jobs. Furthermore, many people find it boring to study about history and art, which force them to think that it is wasting their precious time. For example, software engineers have to work on advanced technical jobs which required modern culture and the latest ways to do a job.

In my opinion, we should learn about our art and cultures at school because it provides us knowledge of our ancestors and historical beliefs. Most importantly, art and culture help us to learn about how to behave with our elders and increase our knowledge about history. In many international universities, for instance, people from different countries and cultures brought together in one place, sometimes, they want to learn about our art and culture. At that time, we would be able to explain to them about our art if we study it at school. Thus, art should be included in our school education as a mandatory subject.

To sum up, the art should be included in our education system at the school level as a mandatory subject. We should not consider that it is just a waste of time because it gives us background knowledge of our country.