Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Yesterday I read an article about entitling artists with the right to present their vision unrestricted. However, this leads one to wonder whether it is reasonable to provide them with this opportunity. This essay agrees with the idea of entitlement.

The first reason is that important issues in society can be reflected on their work of art. Problems in the public are difficult to reveal and understand, but with the ability of artists, it feasible to recognise them before they escalate into social crisis. By analyzing their work, governments could see what is happening in public and get concerned if the people are disappointed by something like a rise in prices or illegal actions by politicians.

Another reason for artists being given the right to express themselves freely is that the level of cultural development is dependant on freedom in art. Culture thrive and become rich comprehensively unless the artists are restricted in their ideas. Thus, if the governemnt is interested in looking culturally developed in the world, it should not limit their rights and let them develop to the full. For example, many european countries pride themselves for their culture, since they allow their artists to express their thoughts nearly with no limits.

However, some politicians claim that the government should restrict their right in some cases. This is because people in art occasionally go beyond moral norms. They may display sexual or violent images in their exhibitions and, therefore, negatively affect people's psychological well-being. For example, in Europe, artists may present nude sculptures or scenes of torture and execution from the Middle Ages in the public places. Despite this, these images are part of the world history, and there is no need to fixate on them as something negative. On the contrary. they show how people lived in the past and what mistakes they made so that the current generate can learn and void them in the future.

In conclusion, authorities should let artists express themselves limitlessly since it help develop socially and curturally.