Some people think that being creative in their free time is beneficial. Discuss merits and demerits and give your opinion.

It is believed by a few individuals that many benefits are accrued from learning something new during leisure time. While this can result in numerous advantages, there certainly are some disadvantages, which will be discussed now. In my opinion, the pros outweigh the cons.

On the bright side, downtime is a great opportunity to upgrade skills and knowledge as well as relax. By participating in short courses and program endow people will unique skills and talents, which may be useful to them soon or later. For instance, learning a new language. The next benefit seems to be related to mental wellness. If someone is idlying for too long, they can become indolent and may lead to procrastination, which will impact their mind and later body. Looking at the same example of learning a foreign language, it will not only help to understand a new language but also in maintaining mental health. Therefore, more and more middle aged people appear to take up a second language to improve their memory.

Turning to the drawbacks of always being occupied even during off-work. Probably, consistently pushing to progress or being active can make people stressed instead of relaxing. Since they are incessantly busy, mind do not have enough time to rejuvinate and refresh. This may cause fatigue and insomnia in some cases. Another counter-effect can be in terms of money. People will not be able create savings since they are using all their sum to pay for activities. Some may as well take out loans to finance their expensive pastime. People may be forced to work harder to earn more, which possibly create a work-life imbalance.

To conclude, despite the fact that there exist some drawbacks to taking up activities after work, they are rare cases and can be easily overcome if managed effectively; therefore, the plus points overshadow the minus points. In my view, people should attempt to ensure that they do not do regrettable things that can cause damage to them.