Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an issue about the influence of oil price on the ecology. Some ecologists suggest boosting the oil price in order to improve the poor condition of the environment. This essay disagrees with this opinion.

Let us start with the reasons why some ecologists state that a rise in the fuel price will become beneficial for the environment. The first reason is that the number of cars running on petrol will decline. Most drivers will not be able to fill their vehicles with gasoline, because the price will soar and become prohibitively high. Another reason is that alternative sources of energy will gain popularity. The car industry will drop significantly due to the growth of oil price, so many car manufacturers will start developing new types of engines, which operates on either hydrogen or solar electricity. Furthermore, traditional automobiles will become economical. Vehicle producers will also transform existing conventional engines into energy efficient, so that driver will be able to fill two times less fuel than usual, which will reduce harmful fumes in the atmosphere.

However, some scientists of global warming argue that high cost of petrol will aggravate environmental pollution. Firstly, most oil companies will supply the energy market with more fuel. The higher the price for oil is, the more areas of oil companies will start to develop, so many investors will choose to invest in petroleum market rather than in alternative energy. Petroleum producers will also hamper the development of alternative engines. They may create a great deal of obstacles to green-energy companies, because they will be reluctant to lose their share in the fuel industry. The complete replacement of traditional cars will linger for long time. The majority car drivers, who are usually poor people, will not quit their cars immediately for ecofriendly ones, so the improvement of air quality will stretch for many years.

In conclusion, although some ecologists advocate that expensive petroleum will help to alleviate the situation with polluted ecology, I think that it will only exacerbate it for the above mentioned reasons.