It is refutable that people these days prefer internet instead of books for knowledge and information. Nevertheless, books have their own importance and values. In my opinion, the importance of books will be reduced in the near future but cannot be neglected.

Information technology is the main reason behind loosing the interest in books. Internet, is the most frequently used medium of information these days either for the education or for any general purpose inquiries. People prefer ebooks rather than the physical books. There are several factors behind the cause. It is easy for an individual to search through an ebook or the internet to get the required information whereas physical books are difficult to surf through. Moreover, any information over the online platforms can be freely and readily accessible, where as individuals need to pay for the books.

On the other side, books can never come to a halt. Books, have been the source of information ever since humanity came into existence. Most of the information in the books is apt according to the evidences. The information over the internet is not reliable. Anybody around any part of the globe can publish anything on the net. There is no one to verify the content. Books are published by authorized printing presses, that are accountable for any false content. People will always be dependent on books for the genuineness.

To conclude, people are loosing their interest in books due to which book industry is deteriorating but books will always be favored for the original content they present. Books will loose importance to a certain extent but will still be a reliable source of information.