In this age of technological advancements, people’s lives have become much easier in every aspect than it was before. Nowadays, people cannot imagine their lives without using the latest technology. Nowadays, investigation agencies use technologies massively to resolve crime and also become successful, unlike the old times when there were no necessary means to stop and resolve crimes. However, there is a large group of scholars, who think that various technologies may responsible for increasing the crime rate. This essay will evaluate both points and present a conclusion in the end.

Firstly, new technological inventions have proved themselves useful to resolve and prevent many crimes instantly. With the modern technologies available, it has become very easier to track down the criminals and prove them guilty in the eyes of law. As per research from Oxford University, many criminals including infamous serial killers weren't brought to justice in lack of proper evidence and were released even though police and court knew that there were guilty. Furthermore, some of them committed heinous crimes again and murdered many innocent people before they were captured red-handed. Since the inception of new technologies such as fingerprint analysis and DNA evaluation, escaping criminals isn’t possible anymore.

Next, the significance of technologies in modern lives cannot be denied but its contribution to expanding cyber crimes may also not be ignored. Nowadays, many hackers around the globe are involved in online fraud and piracy, which result in heavy financial casualties to the people. Apart from this, since the inception of guns and their availability to everyone also result in the untimely death of many innocents.

Lastly, technology should be used for the betterment of people. Even though some people misuse various technologies, it cannot be blamed to encourage crimes. The responsibility of using the available technology productively lies with the people and if it is not being done so, we are who should be at fault.

In essence, technologies have diminished the crime rate and without it, it is also impossible to resolve and check a crime at the rapid speed. While some people have started misusing it but its advantages still outweigh its drawbacks.