Some people think that the government should invest money in arts and culture, while others believe the government should spend money on more important things. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are more than 500 countries in the world, consisting of both developed and developing countries. Every country has different priorities in terms of development plans for promotion of arts and culture. This essay will discuss whether government should invest money in arts and culture or other important things like infrastructure and healthcare.

There are two main benefits of investing in arts and culture. Firstly, it provides an opportunity to safeguard national heritage. The citizens can connect with the art and feel proud about their culture. Secondly, it promotes tourism and creates employment for all the citizens. For example, United States invested in building national parks and the Statue of Liberty which became symbol of national pride. Thus constructing monuments is not a complete waste of money, they will also provide other intangible values for the people.

On the other hand, the government has other responsibilities such as infrastructure and healthcare, which prove to be directly beneficial for the citizens. Investments in roads, railways will improve mobility and assist trade and commerce. Even though, arts and culture would encourage tourism, basic means of transportation are necessary to assist it. For instance, Europe has one of the best rail connectivity which provides easy access across the continent. Therefore, investment in such projects will not only create jobs but also increase the standard of living.

To summarize, both views are equally important as one spikes national pride, tourism and other helps to improve basic facilities. All the developed countries can invest in arts and culture but developing countries need to focus on other things before construction of museum and places of interest. Personally, I feel that investing in arts is not beneficial for the country. The government should invest in other projects like healthcare and infrastructure as they will immediately impact the people living in the country.