Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Art is considered as the process of deliberately arranging elements in a way that appeal to human emotions. Certain individuals have an opinion that governemnt should not invest money on art instead funds should be alllocated to other sectors. This essay disagrees with this statement mainly for two reason. This essay will firstly discuss that art is not only important for foreign tourist attractions but also a source of income generation. This essay will further discuss that various forms of art such as music and dance are a source of entertainment.

Government has the responsibility to preserve the architectural beauty and monuments of a country as they are the mirror reflecting the peiod of glory and struggle of great leaders and rulers of the past. Many international tourists visit countries to view the historical buildings and to participate in traditional activities and events, thus, generation foriegn income for countries and boosting thier economy. To elucidate, India's main source of income generation is from foreign people who visit this country to perceive and get mesmerised with the diverse cultures and architectures such as The Taj Mahal, Red Fort and so on.

Apart from the above mentioned reason, I also believe that various forms of art such as music, cutural events, tradtional plays, dance forms and so on are a source of amusement and stress reliever for people. After spending long hours in offices, meting the deadlines and achieving the targets, people relax themselves either listening to music or watching varied events on television or computer. To elucidate, according to a recent study more than 50 percent of people like to watch movies or listen to soft music in order to relieve themselves from all the burden.

To conclude, i vehemently disagree with this belief that money should be utilised in various other fields except art, instead, it is the duty of the political party in power to invest in art of a country as they are not only attract foreigners and bring in foreign currency but are also a source of pleasure activity for the society.