In many countries around the world, shopping has turned into a form of entertainment rather than a way of getting what people need. Discuss the reason for this trend. Is it a positive or negative development.

In several nations, shopping is considered as a leisure activity rather than buying good that are a necessity for people. This essay will first discuss the reason for this growing trend which is firstly, high disposable income and secondly, influence by companies advertisements. This essay will then argue that this is a very negative trend as it is not only an unproductive activity but also leads to piling of unnecessry goods.

The main reason for people's inclination towards shopping for fun is beacause shopping aids people to calm themselves as well as relax after a long hectic day at work. Buying expensive goods not only gives them a feeling of satisfaction but they also feel that they are doing well in life. Moreover, , people working in multinational organisations earn a handsome amount of salary, as a result they have a good amount of disposable income to purchase goods in their free time. Additionally,the influence by organisations marketing capaigns. People are constantly bombarded with several promotional essages, e-mails and pamphlets giving them information about the new products launched and how they will make life more convenient and easier. Thus, they feel pleased and contended while purchase those products.

However, according to me shopping for enjoyment without giving a thought is an unproductive activity. People waste their hard earned money in indescriminatly buying goods, does not help in their personality developement or enhancement in their knowledge. Instead, if they pursue activities such as sports or studies it will help them to physically and mentally fit. Furthermore, excessive shopping leads to building of pile of unncessary goods in home, which people throw away the products they don' need and increases the amount of waste and causes environment pollution.

In conclusion, people should purchase goods only if they need them, otherwise they should not spend their money in buying expensive good which are not important. People should understand that excessive shopping will have a plethora of negative effects as it does not lead to any develoepment of persona and builds a bundle of not needed items