Some people think that higher institutions should concentration more on academic subjects such as history and the physical sciences, while others think that they should concentrate more on practical subjects such as car mechanics and cookery, etc.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There are different opinions on whether higher education must mainly focus on theoretical subjects or the practical ones. Although some individuals argue that the latter is more beneficial since it equips students with more real life experiences, others state the value of science might not be as obvious but undoubtedly cannot be denied. In the following, I will present both groups arguments, and finally give my own point of view.

On the one hand, science in its pure form, i.e., mathematics, physics, and so on, may not appear in human everyday lives. For example, for becoming a well-known chef, one does not need to be able to master math and know how to solve a three dimensional problem as much as he is expected to differentiate various flavors and make the best combination. Therefore, He better spend his time learning through hand on practices and try-and-error rather than wasting his time in a physics classroom which is not only boring to him but also useless. Besides, demands in society for skilled workers who provide daily services such as pluming, constructing, painting is higher than the request for scientists and researchers. Hence, educational facilities must train more people to answer that demand.

On the other hand, every piece of technology that had made our lives thousands times easier is an evident proof of science effectiveness. People have gotten used to these commodities so much that they can imagine living without them. Nevertheless, all these great inventions most of the time got for granted and people fail to see the talented researchers who have dedicated their life to achieve those discoveries. In addition, learning mathematics and similar subjects broaden person's horizon. It does not matter that you probably never ever encounter those problems in your life. They are train your brain and ready you to comprehend and defeat other challenges in your life.

In conclusion, although some subject may seem impractical, they are good for your brain and help you to become a more knowledgeable and well-rounded person.