tourists and not local people are visiting museums and historical sites. why is it so and what are the ways to attract local people?

Historical places are more often crowded by travelers rather than natives. There are plenty of reasons which contribute to this phenomenon, from which some will be mentioned in the following. Also, a solution will be presented to change the situation.

First of all, museums and places similar to them charge visitors with a considerable amount of fee, which most of the time is not affordable by ordinary people living in the vicinity. For many local individuals, sightseeing is considered a luxury activity and they prefer to spend their money on other necessity of life instead such as food or clothing.

Secondly, in special dates like Nowruz, historical sites such as Persepolis are far too populated with tourists that locals try to avoid those regions altogether. It seems that people living in the same city where tourist attractions are located never get the opportunity to enjoy their magnificent beauty at peace without being disturb by foreign intruders.

Finally, people like to spend their free time to travel and leave their hometown. Hence, they rarely find spare time to visit the historical sites in their neighborhood. Moreover, they are always in their immediate reach so they would rather postpone their visit and go see places that are far away.

Different steps can be taken to encourage local people to visit their hometown historical places. First step could be lowering the entrance fee for locals or even offering free passes to top students and their families. The next step could be dedicating some hours on special occasions only to local visitors. This way they will definitely feel honored and participate in celebrations along with their community members. Lastly, it is beneficial to advertise the value of historical sites and how they might not be around for all eternity so that people come to the realization that time is of the essence. For example, lots of historical places were destroyed after earthquake in Bam. Had people known about the disaster beforehand, they would have visited the place sooner.

In conclusion, there are many problems preventing local residents from visiting their city's historical attractions as mentioned above. However, all challenges can be alleviated by spending money and some encouragements.