tourists and not local people are visiting museums and historical sites. why is it so and what are the ways to attract local people?

Museums and monuments showcase the history ,culture and tradition of any country. Most of such places , nowadays , attract tourists while the footfall of local inhabitants is meager. There are numerous reasons for such a trend and simple measures taken by the government can increase the attendance of local people .

To begin with , local people shun museums and historical sites because the experience to visiting such places is often monotonous. Most of the monuments are standing for centuries and museums are usually not regularly updated. Therefore, although they are always in tourist’s itinerary on account of new experience but for natives regular visits is quite often boring.

Another reason for infrequent visits by the locals is the cost. Most of the museums and historical places have entry fees which is often an issue in developing countries where majority earn just enough money to make the ends meet. Finally, most governments are busy focusing on science and technology which will bring bright future but this is being done at the cost of neglecting our glorious past. Due to this biased behavior by the authorities, people are loosing interest in museums and archaeological sites.

There are multiple simple solutions which can be taken by government to rekindle the interest. One way could be organizing regular events like exhibitions, inter – cultural events and light shows which can provide natives a varied experience every time they visit the site. Another step could be scrapping the entry fees so that everyone can visit them. Finally , the local authorities should aggressively advertise museums and monuments so that it engross the locals.