Some people think that human history has been a journey from

ignorance to knowledge. Others argue that this underestimates the

achievements of ancient cultures, and overvalues our achievements.

It is a general opinion in scientific circles that human race has moved from living a rough life in caves to the present technological era; but I believe that ancient civilizations and cultures had their glories and achievements that cannot be matched and compared to the modern human knowledge. This essay will encompass both the arguments with examples.

Humans started their journey on this planet by living a nomadic life and gradually developed into clans and devised languages to make communications stronger. Fire was a huge discovery in the basic human history, and then the times observed different ages like medieval, Bronze Age, Silver Age, Industrial Revolution and the current Digital Age we have stepped in recent decades. In the chronology of human race, we also observe that humans of the past had to live a difficult life without the comforts we take for granted today. With the addition of knowledge and progress, the whole human race has had numerous inventions to ease the life of everyday human beings including air conditioning, cars and airplanes just to name a few.

But on the other hand, when we look deeply into some of the previous civilizations, our scientific knowledge and sanity becomes baffled at times. The magnificent architecture and monuments created by our predecessors like Egyptian Pyramids, Temples, Indus civilization and Buddha statues are among so many things that inspire and intrigue our minds even today in the 21st century. On the other hand, spiritual knowledge, astrology, spirits and knowledge of the metaphysical dimensions was owned by some previous cultures. In fact, it can be justified to say that there are some mystical revelations and hidden prophecies that keep on becoming reality and modern science remains in awe with all that knowledge.

Hence, I would say that we as human race have advanced a lot in many ways, but there are some mystic aspects of the olden civilizations that will keep on inspiring us and put us to think of the abilities and knowledge our forefathers had.