Some people think that human needs for farmland, housing and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree?

The burgeoning population demands more land for agriculture, housing and industry and, as such, more and more forest lands will have to be cleared, leadiNg to the extinction of the already endangered species of animals. Since human needs have greater priority, many people are of the view that forests need not be saved for the protection of these animals. However, as the total extinction of these animals will have ecological consequences, this essay does not agree to this view.

To begin with, human high-handedness in destroying vast areas of forest land in the name of urbanization and industrialization has led to severe environmental concerns. To exemplify, apart from climatic change and the consequent global warming, several species of flora and fauna have already been destroyed or are facing extinction. This directly affects the food chain and the balance of nature. It is, therefore, important that the endangered species of animals are protected.

In contrast, however, human requirements are increasing day by day. For instance, more progress is inevitable to meet these myriad needs. It would mean further deforestation and annihilation of more species of plants and animals, leading to greater ecological threats. Discrete clearing of forests, keeping in mind the safety of the endangered animals, can see a way through this bottleneck.

In the objective analysis, the growing human demands have to be met even at the sacrifice of more woods. At the same time, animals vanishing from the face of the earth has also to be taken care of to avoid ecological setbacks. The proactive approach to the matter would, therefore, be a sustainable development.