Some people think that individuals today are more dependent on each other. Others believe people have become more independent.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some consider today's populace to be more dependent on others than past, whereas, another group of individuals deem that people have become much independent. I believe people have become more self-dependent in some aspects, in past few years, however, most of the homo-sapiens still rely on others for one thing or another, thus justifying the title, the social animal.

A considerable portion of people believe that individuals nowadays, depend more on their families and peers, and as they grow up, their dependency shifts from one person to another along with the changing type of response needed. For instance, teenagers depend on their parents for food and shelter, the adults depend on their spouse for emotional needs and then the elders seek assistance for their health and other daily needs, just to quote a few.

Although dependence has increased in certain aspects of life, independence has upsurged in many ways too. As many individuals chose to stay focused on their work and dedicate most of their time to it, they do not feel as if something is missing. Such people are capable of taking care of their needs and have a way with their emotions to eliminate any dependency.

As per my observation, humans still are social animals, who needs a constant connection from other humans. However, some people have occupied themselves with so much workload and dedicated themselves to their own care, that they do not feel the need for social connections. Undoubtedly, this might be true for the most part of their lives, but I feel that even such individuals, at a certain point in time feel the void for friends or family.

To conclude, people can take care of themselves now and can survive the ups and downs of life, yet sometimes some individuals, either to fill their emotional void or for security, feel the need of being in the company of other humans. Therefore, it is really complex to categorise a person into a single class of either dependent or independent, as a person can be both at different parts of his life