Some people think that individuals today are more dependent on each other. Others believe people have become more independent.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is sometimes thought by people that our reliance on each other has increased in the recent times. While, others are of the view that people are more independent than they were in the past. In my opinion, I consider that people have the need to rely on each other for various tasks due to various pressures in the modern era.

On the one hand, people’s belief that we rely on others more than ever before due to the simple reason that it offers a great deal of support and guidance, and I agree with this belief. In the contemporary world full of cut-throat competition, stress, and tensions, we need some kind of support systems, without which one cannot thrive. Take, for example new entrepreneurs, who cannot dream of achieving great strides in life without any kind of financial support or emotional support from others. Moreover, owing to the fast paced as well as sedentary lifestyles, working couples often need the help of their family members or servants to look after their children and other household chores.

On the other hand, being able to do numerous tasks independently as a result of unprecedented technological development has made people to think that we are more self-reliant today. In other words, we can accomplish various kinds of works at the click of a button such as paying bills, booking tickets, studying and many more for which we do not require the help of others. As knowledge about each and everything is readily available, individuals have become more self-sustaining.

To summarise, although independence is a key feature of modern world, people have greatly become mutually reliant in order to live happily and attain success in one’s professional and personal life.