Some people think that it is beneficial for old people to learn something new while others believe that once a person is past 65 years of age it is too late to learn. What is your opinion?

It is considered that seniors can benefit from learning something modern, whereas others argue that it is too late for senior citizens to learn something new. However, in my opinion, older people can considerably benefit from learning new things.

To begin with, a person is never too late to learn something new, and senior citizens can receive substantial benefits from increasing their knowledge across a broad range of subjects. The risk of health conditions that affect memory increases with age. However, studying a new language or learning a mentally demanding skill like photography or how to use an iPad/iPhone, for instance, improves their cognitive functioning and can prevent major memory lapses. In addition, mastering a new concept or skills gives them immense pleasure and thus they can enjoy the feeling of having high self-esteem.

Furthermore, learning with others is a wonderful way to prevent isolation. Nowadays, there are many senior-friendly classes available where they can connect with people of the same interests, and he or she can benefit from the reinforcement that comes from learning in a collaborative environment. Education does not just provide senior more brainpower, it also has a powerful effect on their physical capabilities. For example, woodworking, gardening, and other senior-friendly pursuits all provide exercise during the day. Whether grasping a tool while learning a new quilting technique or kneeling in the garden provide the exercise and flexibility to joints.

In conclusion, learning new skills can bring enormous benefits to older adults in relation to their well-being including social, cognitive, and emotional health benefits.