Some people think that it is necessary to travel to other places to learn about other cultures. Others say that books, films and the Internet can be used as a source of information about different cultures.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

We live in a multifaceted society that has its own cultural and traditional values. Those different cultures lure people to visit different places in order to learn more which is laudable, but others believe that we live in a digital world and such information is accessible through paper and print media and travel documentaries. I will shed some light on both views before presenting an opinion.

People believe that culture can be best understood when one physically visit that place. Proponents of this viewpoint argue that films and books do not cover all aspects and often shows only positive attributes. Cultural values and traditions are best analysed when we face them and participate in their festivals, religious gatherings, weddings and other events. Moreover, travel documentaries give us limited information and physical presence in instrumental to observe and understand their emotion, feelings and sentiments. For instance, Malay culture is rich in folk music, artworks, poetry, festivals , but there are some hidden traits like their disliking for non-Malay which is not mentioned in any book or shown in films. Furthermore, one can truly admire and appreciate culture when they mingle with them.

On the contrary, books were written by authors that visited those places or heard about them from others. Moreover, the internet is a massive repository of digital content in the form of textual and visual information. For instance, Indian culture got popular in western countries due to different Bollywood movies. Furthermore, documentary videos and movies are a good source of information as they cover different aspects of a culture in visual form and one gets absorbed in it while watching.

To recapitulate, the aforementioned provides plausible arguments over both view point. However, I personally believe that one should travel to explore and kerb their passion for learning different cultures as physical presence cannot match the virtual information.