Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples.

Peoples opinions differ as to whether or not it is advisable for children to raise an animal as their pet. Some suggest that raising domestic animals will teach children to be responsible and they can make a bond with them. I believe that children are prone to get infected by domestic animals and therefore they should not be allowed to handle pets.

On the one hand, domestic animals such as dogs and cats are quite attractive and children love to play with them. This especially helps children in developing their personality as they learn to respect other creatures on this planet. This will also make them show empathy towards other human beings. For instance, the Pediatric Health magazine published an interesting survey that more than 90 percent of children who own a pet exhibit care towards others and show no traces of violence when they grow up.

On the contrary, domestic animals carry a lot of disease-causing bacteria and other parasitic worms which are quite dangerous to children as their immunity power is less compared to that of adults. Domestic animals roam around freely in contaminated areas and often pick up pathogens that are harmful to the children who come in close contact with them. To illustrate, the Vet Clinic in Boston stated that children who raise pets are twice likely to get rabies and other deadly diseases. Thus it is not advisable for children to keep pets.

In summary, petting animals may teach children to show compassion towards other living creatures; however, there are health risks involved in doing so. Therefore, I strongly suggest that children should not be allowed to pet animals.