Some people think libraries are a waste of resources and money so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While computers are considered an economical source of getting information and they should replace libraries, many people choose traditional methods of acquiring data which means to read books in libraries. In my opinion, instead of replacing libraries with computers, both facilities should be available to knowledge seekers at one place which would be less expensive.

It is thought by some people that computers based libraries are less expensive than maintaining conventional libraries. Computer based library is considered cost-effective way to acquire information because a large size data can be stored in just one computer. Also, only one soft copy of books is required which can be copied and transferred further as many times as needed. Therefore, computers libraries do not need a large space to arrange a massive number of books in shelves and racks which saves both money and space. In addition, soft copies of books will not tear apart even after years, and heavy cost will not be incurred in their repair as data in computers is safer than books in racks.

Mostly people, on the other hand, are not computer literate, therefore significance of conventional libraries cannot be overlooked. Elderly people, for example, prefer reading books, magazines in hard form rather on computers because they find screen-reading pretty difficult. Moreover, if data on a computer gets deleted, it will be almost impossible to recover it. It might cost administration a hefty amount to avail services of a computer expert to recover deleted files. However, repair of a torn book does not involve a large amount.

In my opinion, system can be upgraded by including one or two computer labs in every conventional library. This would allow people to go for their priorities. As a result, an already existed library building can serve both purposes which would be more economical and suitable than vanishing conventional libraries completely.

To conclude, although computer is a modern technology to read, store and transfer books, a library can fulfill the needs of both young and old generation by having both facilities under one roof. Therefore, replacing libraries with computers is not going to save money.