Some people think that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Technological advancements have changed the lives of mankind in many ways. Though there is one school of thought which believes that technology is bringing people closer, yet there is another one which does not prefer the modern way of interactions. We will discuss both the point of views and demonstrate how technology is actually making people less sociable.

There are two primary arguments in favor of modern technology helping people become more sociable. Foremost is the ability to find long lost friends of childhood, school and college period through social media with whom one can converse even though staying at a distance. For instance, I was able to find my close friends and relatives on facebook within six months of joining it. Moreover, it is providing them a platform to come out of the closet and share their thoughts with others. Thereby, making them more confident while expressing their views. This is done through websites like twitter, where many political, sports and other areas of personal interest are tweeted by users.

On the other hand, it has many ill-effects as well while making people less sociable in the physical world. Firstly, it is very easy for users to express fake emotions online and deceive the other person. But when the meeting is done face to face, the reality is much different and it leads to disappointment. Secondly, as children are involved more in their smartphones than focusing on their parents or siblings, their social skills of observations and to respond accordingly are getting reduced drastically. As per a study by Harvard institute, with increase in smartphone penetration, the ability of students to respond favorably to different type of stimuli has reduced and the negative emotions have increased

To summarize the above views, the drawbacks of deception in virtual world against reality and reduction in observation and responding skills outweigh the benefits of finding old friends and ability to share personal views without any inhibition, and therefore more traditional ways of interaction should be adopted to become more sociable.