Write about the following topic.

Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Bringing a life into this world is one of the most splendid experiences for a mother. But the number of abortion cases have increased significantly and is a controversial topic with people having strong opinions. This essay will discuss why abortion should be made legal with strong controls in place even though there are points contrary to it.

Certainly, there are some issues associated with undergoing an abortion. Foremost is that the society consider it a taboo and in India conforming to the societal norms is of utmost importance. Secondly, it has a negative effect on the woman’s health when she undergoes the operation. It can also prove life threatening for her. For instance, last year’s medical data pertaining to the abortions conducted after 20 weeks of pregnancy show that 20% of them resulted in death of the mother and 50% reported permanent infertility.

However, it should not be forgotten that there could be some practical reasons why so many abortions are taking place in recent times. Firstly, as the number of young people involved in sexual intercourse has gone up, the teenage pregnancies are on a rise. In such scenarios, a girl is mentally and physically not prepared to deliver a baby. Additionally, the participation of women in corporate world has risen tremendously. In case she is not mentally ready because of her priorities towards career, he decision to do the drop the pregnancy should be respected. In my family, the average age of delivering first child was around 22 in my mother’s generation, which has increased to 28 in mine. Therefore, it is important to accept the changing realities and the legal system should be designed in a way so that it supports such scenarios. Women should therefore be allowed to abort as long as their life is not compromised.

In the conclusion, although there are various adverse impacts on the mother’s health and negativity in society, this is a current phenomenon which needs to be accepted. The legal framework should be designed in a way to support it. Therefore, I am of the opinion that abortion should be allowed legally with certain guardrails to ensure safety of the mother.