Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With increased competition, there is a lot of stress on parents and children for them to excel in multiple fields. This has led to some people believing that in any free time, parents should encourage their children to participate in some organized group activities; while there are others who feel that children should be left to themselves to figure out what they want to do. In this essay, we will look at why it is important for children to have some ‘me time’ for them to do things on their own rather than parents planning each and every activity that their children should do including their free time.

A lot of parents believe in the benefits that group activities bring to their children. It is imperative that children learn the societal ways of working as it is a social world in which they will grow up, and what better way than to be part of activities which encourage such behaviors through various exercises and games at a young stage. The focus is on tasks which will encourage each child to display some sort of desired behavior and for organizers to intervene when required to guide them in case they deviate. This imbibes the human traits which are preferred by all like leadership, team work, helping others, etc.

On the other hand, it is also important to understand that children need to identify their true potential by participating in activities that they like. Not all children are similar and this dissimilarity is what makes everyone unique. Each child needs to have that time on their own where they can try out different things to boost their creativity as some like painting, some like singing, some prefer reading and so on. Also basis their mood, at different points of time their preferences will also change. This liberty to make their own choices will also provide them necessary confidence to lead their way independently in future in the profession of their choice.

Therefore, though I understand that in the society to grow, children should learn to display behaviors which are appreciated by the society at large; but I believe at a younger age it is more important that children are left on their own for atleast some time to figure out what brings the best in them, and thus to ultimately find something which will work for them in the future as well.