Some people think that money is the best gift for teenagers. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Some would argue that cash is the perfect present for young adolescents, while others say that it is inappropriate to give money to youngsters. This essay will argue that although money makes them more independent, I believe that at this stage they are immature to spend on their own.

On the one hand, money in hand gives them the freedom to buy things of their choice. Owing to this they tend to value money realizing that money does not grow on trees and one must work hard to make both ends meet. For example, in the United Kingdom in 2018, a survey based on part-time working individuals reveals that 60% of teenagers start odd jobs to fulfil their needs. However, I believe that for encouragement and motivation, many productive things such as books or latest electronic gadgets such as mobile phones are the best gifts which will also help them in their academic career and that they can focus on their studies more instead of thinking about earning money.

On the other hand, during teen years individuals are in their exploration phase. So, they are not aware of the consequences of bad habits and also not able to distinguish between right and wrong. If they are not properly monitored by their parents, they bought things which are inappropriate for them. Hence, many of them become drugs addicts and buy narcotics. For example, an annual report on drug addicts shows that 8% of school-going teenagers become drug habitual when they are given free hand by their parents and later not having money pursue them to use unfair means. Thus, I believe that until they are mature they must not be given money instead parents use alternative and bought them whatever they want.

To conclude, those who think cash is the ideal gift for teenagers have flawed believe because it paved the way for several unethical things and become a hurdle in their bright future.