Some people think that news has no connection in people's lives, so it is a waste of time to read news in newspapers and watch television news programs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree

There are evidences that indicate that news has a substantial connection with the lives of the people. Yet surprisingly, some people still claim that time is being wasted as newspapers are being read, and television news programs are being watched by the people. I somewhat disagree with this ideology.

Truly, some media outlets do not often share important information that might add value to people. Instead, they publish news about sea storm or, perhaps, desert hurricane, describing unfortunate nature occurrences with attention-grabbing details. But typically establishing little or no connection with the daily activities of the audience after investing time in seeking the information. However, letter could be written to auditors in an attempt to prevent further uninteresting news.

Having said that, I believe news tend to have impact on the lives of the people in some ways. From publishing recent jobs that may favour job seekers to creating awareness about vaccines that could assist in curing diseases, people are depending on broadcasters to be presenting such information to them. In addition to that, news seems to be significantly important in avoiding problems. For example, if reporters publicize an ongoing robbery in a particular location, people could restrain from such route and, probably, save lives. Most importantly, news appears to guide people in preparing for events and also in making decisions. If this were not true, people would not gather weather reports when they need to board aeroplane. These show the overall connection between news and people.

In conclusion, not only is news important in the day-to-day activities of people, but also is it relevant to successful accomplishment of such activities. Therefore, I disagree that reading newspaper and watching television programs is a waste of time