Some people think that universities should provide graduates with knowledge and skills needed in workplaces. others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer

what in your own opinion should be the main function of university

Suggesting that universities should provide just occupational skills to graduate instead of the traditional, flexible curriculum that may or may not consider employer is a great debate. My opinion is that universities should not limit their function to just workplace skills as there is a great advantage in providing knowledge.

Training University graduate about vocational skills for workplaces requires more practical application rather than academic. It is believed by some that this method of education seems to equip students with skills needed for the job market, thereby provide a somewhat strong connection between education and the working world. However, I think the majority of students may adopt memorization style of learning since the occupational knowledge they acquire appears to be somehow fixed. As a result, undergraduate may not be flexible when problems develop due due to changes. So although providing graduate with employment skills may encourage conformity, it hinders creativity.

Universities focusing on equipping graduates with employability skills tend to not assist universities in performing their primary function: to unfold the full potential of undergraduates. To do this, I believe they would need to provide access to knowledge through comprehensive education. A type that covers a variety of academic subjects that would focus on theory and create familiarity with principles, probably because such structure gives room to extensive researches and discoveries. If graduates are exposed to these, their choices would become clearer, which could help narrow the scope of focus in their courseworks.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge that training graduates with job skills, may be beneficial, it not only kills creativity but also derails universities from their main responsibilities. Providing comprehensive knowledge, on the other hand, broadens the horizons of graduates. Therefore, the main function of universities should be the latter.