Some people think that only staff who worked in a company for a long time should be
promoted to a higher position.
To what extent do you agree or disagree?
One of the reasons why companies choose to promote some staff is seniority. While the length of
service is undoubtedly an important factor, my belief is it should certainly not be the only
criterion for deciding who should be promoted. Rather it would be better for companies to have a
more varied policy in this area.
There are without question sound arguments for promoting employees who have been working
for a company for a number of years. The first of these is that these more experienced employees
would be able to adapt themselves to be in a higher position, as they would understand the
culture and policies of the company better. Again, on a practical level, if they were not promoted,
they might well leave the company to find a higher position and earn a larger salary. This could
have serious consequences for the company, which might lose a significant amount of business
to its competitors.
Despite these reasons, there is a strong argument in favour of also promoting staff because of
their performance. This can be seen by how some multinationals use annual performance and
development reviews when deciding on promotion. Under this system, a supervisor can set
targets for an employee and if those targets are met, then the employee can be promoted, even if
they are relatively junior. The benefit of this approach is that it encourages staff to work harder
and rewards merit and not just long service.
In conclusion, there is no doubt a case for implementing a policy of promoting long-serving
members of staff, but I believe that it is also wise to take account of the performance of more
junior members of staff.