People have different views and suggestions about congestion caused by privately owned cars. Some Individuals think that in order to reduce the traffic it is better for private cars to stay off city centers while others think it is an unrealistic idea.

Banning of private vehicles will help to reduce congestion in cities. The amount of privately owned cars are on the rise due to the increase in the world’s population today. Nowadays, most cities encounter congestion because of overpopulation. Restricting private cars to only run in designated areas and neighborhoods will drastically reduce traffic. This development would ensure the amount of cars that come to the city centers would be monitored, and this amount of cars wouldn’t be able to cause congestion in the city. Accessibility of the roads will be made easy for citizens, so they can carry out their daily activities without having to bother about the effects congestion can cause for them.

On the other hand, others discuss about the issue of banning privately owned cars in city centers and they see it as an unrealistic idea. They said that private cars during this period of COVID-19 play a huge role in maintaining hygiene because they don’t expose you to the public. Public transport will only make matters worse by exposing us to the virus when we get to stay together in a bus full of strangers for a period of time. The issue of gridlock caused by congestion is a reality, but this can be controlled by using traffic lights and traffic wardens in the city. The elderly will be affected by this ban of privately owned vehicles whenever they need to go for medical appointments, grocery shopping and need to walk around the park.

In my opinion, I would suggest that banning of private cars from going to city centers can be limited to a few days during the week. The issue of congestion can be dealt with by having traffic lights properly installed around the city, and the recruitment of traffic wardens to engage congestion and gridlocks.

In conclusion, banning privately owned cars entirely form city centers would not be appropriate, so let us install traffic lights to ensure that congestion can be controlled in cities.