Some people think painting and drawing are as important as other subjects, they should be compulsory in the high school education.

Few people hold the idea that visual arts subjects, such as painting and drawing should be added to high school curriculum as compulsory subjects, because they are equally important as other courses. this essay supports the same view and will discuss the importance of such subjects in the forthcoming paragraph, followed by the reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, there are several rationales to justify, making art and painting compulsory in high school. On the first hand, visual art is just not about painting and drawing, instead, it will help students to develop necessary life skills, viz. perspective, creativity, and social understandings. According to a survey, it is claimed that integrating arts with other subjects, can raise academic performance, as visual arts is associated with improved literacy. Secondly, it is the responsibility of schools to offer the students with wide range of careers, so that they may have many options available to choose from. For instance, if a student is poor in core subjects, he could have these arts subjects as an alternative to pursue further.

however, on the contrary, those who oppose to this says that, making arts compulsory in high school, is not a wise decision, as only those students can reap the benefits of such subjects, who are passionate about such subjects. To be more specific, not interested pupils will take such subject as a burden and will cover it half-heartedly, only to pass that respected course. however, I would say that, to relive the academic burden among students, courses that boost creativity should be a mandatory part of the curriculum.

To conclude, although painting and drawing are not every ones cup of tea, still these courses are important for learners at the secondary level.