Some people think that people can be encouraged to take up sport through sporting events such as Olympics. However, others think that there are better ways to encourage adults to take part in sports.

Discuss both views and give opinion.

The Government is motivating its citizens to take part in sports regularly. While most people believe that the Olympic events encourage them to participate in sporting events, others argue that the more steps need to be taken for motivating them. This essay will discuss why the Olympic games play an important role but why more investment in sports facilities is far better.

Human beings are fascinated by fame, which seems to be the most obvious reason to get motivated by sports events. In other words, during the tournaments the players and their achievements make most of the headlines; thus everyone, especially young people, may start taking part in the sport of their choice. For instance, in the UK, whenever any major tournament, such as commonwealth or FIFA, is being organized, sports club registration registers a substantial increase in registrations.

Conversely, I believe that the unavailability of local sports facilities and the cost of playing sport are the main deterrent to the people who are interested in participating in sports. Because of hectic schedules, people are reluctant to travel to the facilities which are far away from their home or office. Adding to this, the rising cost of living in most of the cities, nowadays, may deter them to spend money on sports. Moreover, by spending on facilities such as stadium or tennis court with cheaper memberships, not only government can make sure that people are not having any hurdles in participating in games, but they can also save a huge amount of money which otherwise would have been wasted on the Olympic events.

In conclusion, although the sports events encourage people to some extent, it does not justify the exorbitant money spend on games; therefore, personally, I believe that different steps must be taken by local authorities so that more people become interested in playing games.