Some people think that prison sentences should not be used in dealing with criminals. Education and job training should be used instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a debate on how offenders should spend their conviction period. Some are of the opinion that educating and skills training should replace with jailing. I believe that this notion can be a workable solution.

Research findings confirm that the majority of re-offending is rooted in illiteracy and unemployment. People require a sizeable amount of money to fulfill their basic needs and criminals are no exception. Since they lack sufficient knowledge and skills to earn money, they easily turn to crime. Thus, rehabilitation period can be an appropriate time during which offenders learn how to make money and, in turn, should governments treat them properly, not only can they save their lives from corruption but also the society will benefit from their abilities. This idea would act as deterrent for immature criminals to re-offending. As juvenile delinquency is progressing, their whole lives may alter by allowing them to flourish the talents and innate abilities as opposed to committing a crime.

Furthermore, criminals are more exposed to bad behavior since they are imprisoned. Staying idle at jail is more likely to make a person be recidivist, in that prison provides prisoners with ample time to either forming stronger relationships or planning for more serious crimes. Therefore, by enacting prison sentence for an offender neither does a guilty person become aware of the devastating consequences of their action nor the community encounters the crime reduction. Consequently, the fear of criminal action is always felt and may badly influence the standard of living of dwellers.

In conclusion, it is better to use educational and skill training sentence as a punishment as opposed to sending criminals to prison. Since prisoners are taught how to acquire revenue, they are also prevented to integrate to other criminals.